NASCAR Camping World Truck Series At The Tricky Triangle

Not only is the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series racing at Pocono Raceway this coming weekend, the NASCAR Camping World will be in action for the “Pocono Mountains 150″ on Saturday, August 1st.  These boys will get to test “The Tricky Triangle” as well.  The fans at Pocono will be in for a treat as well during the race.  In addition to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series regulars racing on Saturday, a couple of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers will be in the field.

Austin Dillon, Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch are all entered in the race.  Dillon will be driving the No. 33 Rheem Chevy, Harvick will be in the No. 00 Haas Automation Chevy, Keselowski in the No. 29 Cooper Standard Careers for Veterans Chevy and Busch in the No. 51 Dollar General Toyota.Photo Courtesy @KBMteam

Now you ask who you do you think will be in victory lane come Saturday afternoon?  Well, lets look at the past winners.  The Camping World Truck Series has only raced at Pocono Raceway since 2010, with one race per year.  In 2010, Johnny Sauter took the checkered flag, 2011 saw Kevin Harvick in victory lane and in 2012 Joey Coulter was the man to beat.  Ryan Blaney won in 2013 and last year, Austin Dillon took the checkered flag.  One of the unique things about these winners is that all were in Chevrolet trucks, except Ryan Blaney who was in a Ford.

Since there are four Cup drivers in the field, you would think the winner will come from one of these four.  But you ask, which one.  Take a look back at the past winners and the manufacture of the truck the winners were in – it was either a Ford, or Chevy, with Chevy winning 4 of the 5 races.  So essentially that would seem like Kyle Busch will not be in victory lane since he is in a Toyota for the race.

So that leaves, Dillon, Harvick and Keselowski.  Dillon and Harvick have both one a NASCAR Camping World Truck Series event at Pocono Raceway meaning they are good at navigating this track when the time comes.  Yes, Keselowski might be good at hitting his marks, but based on results, he has not had it at the end, so we will eliminate him.

That puts us down to Dillon and Harvick.  Harvick won in 2011 and Dillon is the defending champion of the race.  Be the defending champion, does that give Dillon the edge?  You decide.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.