League Announces Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Nominees

The NFL today announced the 32 players who have been named their team’s Man of the Year. From granting scholarships to forming foundations promoting literacy, to getting kids active, these players represent the best of the NFL’s commitment to philanthropy and community impact and are now eligible to win the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, presented by Nationwide.

Three of these nominees will be selected as finalists for the award, named for the legendary Bears running back who died in 1999. Finalists will be announced in January 2015.

The winner will be announced in Arizona, the site of Super Bowl XLIX, during the 4thAnnual NFL Honors awards show, a two-hour primetime special to air nationally on Saturday, January 31, from 9-11 p.m. ET on NBC.

Each of the 32 team nominees receive a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to the charity of their choice.  The three finalists will receive an additional $5,000 donation, and the winner will receive an additional $20,000 donation in his name.

“We admire and support the important work that these players and so many other NFL players are doing to serve their communities,” said NFL Commissioner ROGER GOODELL. “The NFL is filled with outstanding young men who help schools, shelters, and countless other organizations and good causes. We thank our players for recognizing the positive impact they can have in the lives of their fellow citizens and seizing that opportunity to make difference.”

As announced in July, Nationwide is the presenting sponsor of the award for the first time this year. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award is the only league award that recognizes a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence.

“As a company whose core values include integrity, trust and community support, Nationwide is proud to be the sponsor of the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award,” said MATT JAUCHIUS, Nationwide’s chief marketing officer. “While only one of these men can win the award, the fact that they have been nominated makes them, and the communities they serve, winners. We congratulate this year’s nominees and thank them for their leadership.”

For more information on the team nominees and the award, visit www.NFL.com/manoftheyear.

About Nationwide 

Nationwide, a Fortune 100 company based in Columbus, Ohio, is one of the largest and strongest diversified insurance and financial services organizations in the U.S. and is rated A+ by both A.M. Best and Standard & Poor’s. The company provides a full range of insurance and financial services, including auto, commercial, homeowners and life insurance; public and private sector retirement plans, annuities and mutual funds; banking and mortgages; specialty health; pet, motorcycle, boat and farm insurance. For more information, visit www.nationwide.com.

A list of team nominees is below:


Arizona Cardinals
Calais Campbell
Atlanta Falcons
Matt Bryant
Baltimore Ravens
Torrey Smith
Buffalo Bills
Fred Jackson
Carolina Panthers
Thomas Davis
Chicago Bears
Jay Cutler
Cincinnati Bengals
Vincent Rey
Cleveland Browns
Craig Robertson
Dallas Cowboys
DeMarco Murray
Denver Broncos
Ben Garland
Detroit Lions
Stephen Tulloch
Green Bay Packers
Aaron Rodgers
Houston Texans
Andre Johnson
Indianapolis Colts
Pat McAfee
Jacksonville Jaguars
Josh Scobee
Kansas City Chiefs
Tamba Hali
Miami Dolphins
Olivier Vernon
Minnesota Vikings
Chad Greenway
New England Patriots
Devin McCourty
New Orleans Saints
Thomas Morstead
New York Giants
Steve Weatherford
New York Jets
Muhammad Wilkerson
Oakland Raiders
Marcel Reece
Philadelphia Eagles
Connor Barwin
Pittsburgh Steelers
William Gay
San Diego Chargers
Philip Rivers
San Francisco 49ers
Anquan Boldin
Seattle Seahawks
Russell Wilson
St. Louis Rams
Johnny Hekker
Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Vincent Jackson
Tennessee Titans
Jason McCourty
Washington Redskins
Darrel Young

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.