Hall of Fame Names Class of 2014

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has announced its Class of 2014 to be enshrined in Canton. The Class of 2014 includes 5 NFL greats and two senior selections.

Derrick Brooks – LB; Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Derrick Brooks was enshrined in Canton his first year being eligible to do so. Brooks brings to the Hall of Fame one Super Bowl title, 11 Pro Bowl appearances, 8 First-Team All-NFC selections and 6 First-Team All-Pro choices. Along with being selected for the NFL’s All-Decade Team of the 2000s, Brooks was named the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Walter Jones – T; Seattle Seahawks

Walter Jones spent his entire career as a loyal Seattle Seahawk and earned 9 Pro Bowl appearances and an NFL 2000s All-Decade Team selection. . He was named the best left tackle in the NFL by John Madden for allowing only 23 sacks in 13 seasons, less than 2 sacks per season. Jones is one of only three players in Seahawks history to have his number 71 jersey retire with him.

Andre Reed – WR; Buffalo Bills, Washington Redskins

Andre Reed, former Buffalo Bills all-pro receiver, is a 7-time Pro Bowl selection and was a key wide receiver in the Buffalo Bills four consecutive Super Bowl appearances. Reed retired third all-time in receptions with 951 career receptions, sixth in receiving yards with 13,198 receiving yards, and seventh all-time with 86 receiving touchdowns. As part of the Class of 2014, the accomplished wide receiver’s career receiving yards rank 4th among the 22 Pro Football Hall of Fame receivers. Reed also holds impressive Super Bowl records: his 27 career Super Bowl receptions record is second only to Hall of Famer Jerry Rice and his 323 total Super Bowl receiving yards are the third most in Super Bowl history.

Michael Strahan – DE; New York Giants

Michael Strahan is a 15 year Giant player, earning 7 Pro Bowl selections and chosen All-Pro 5 times. Strahan was named 2001 NFL Defensive Player of the Year and a two-time NFC Defensive Player of the Year in 2001 and 2003. He ranks 5th all-time in career sacks at 141.5, and holds the NFL’s single-season sack record of 22.5.

Aeneas Williams – CB/S; Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, St. Louis Rams

Aeneas Williams is an 8-time Pro Bowler, 4-time All-Pro selection, and named All-NFC 4 times. Selected as a member of the 1990s NFL All-Decade Team, Williams awards include being named the NFC Defensive Rookie of the Year by the NFLPA and later the 1997 Defensive Back of the Year. At his retirement, he was tied for second all-time with nine pick-sixes and also shared the NFL record for the longest fumble return when he recovered a fumble on the opening drive and ran 104 yards for a touchdown against the Redskins.

The senior winners are Ray Guy and Claude Humphrey.

Ray Guy brings with him to the Hall of Fame an extensive resume. A 7-time Pro Bowler, he was named All-Pro 6 times and All-AFC 7 times. Guy was selected for the 1970s NFL All-Decade Team, and subsequently to the All-Time NFL Team. Guy led the NFL in punting in 1974, 1974, and 1977, with his longest punt achieved in 1977 against Denver, at 74 yards. During his career he punted 1,049 times for 44,493 yards, averaging 42.4 yards per punt, and had a streak of 619 consecutive punts before having one blocked. In 2000, the Greater August Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in his honor, to be awarded to the nation’s best collegiate punter.

Claude Humphrey is known as one of the most dominant defensive ends in the 1970s. The 6-time Pro Bowler was named All-Pro 5 times, and earned the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year 1968. Humprey earned 122 sacks over his career.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.